Iwata Karen Lineblog Translation 2018/06/04

Source: https://lineblog.me/iwata_karen/archives/13187617.html

The Robbers and Amalia

Yesterday, 「The Robbers」’s curtain has closed safely.
The rehearsal period including book reading is about one month. In order to overcome this difficult play written by Schiller, there was the time when I felt like my ability was possibly lacking.
The first time the only woman in the group, the only heroine. Amalia is not just a beautiful heroine. Strength of a woman, weakness of a human, love for only 1 person, strength of chasing it. I had to express everything that I said.

It was the first time for me to play in the translated classic play, it was also the first time I had a lot of lines.
How to let out my voice, how to let out my gaze, all that I don’t really understand.
I got really frustrated, troubled and I struggled.
But a lot of people around me helped me, and somehow I was able to play Amalia…
I have nothing but gratitude.
Finally, I feel like that I have done the play that I wanted to do. Everyone in CEDAR, everyone in the group, thank you very much.
I thought that I really have no regret, I was able to let Amalia died on stage properly yesterday.

Therefore, little story. (LOL)

From the right, Ojiri Masahiro-kun as Karl, me, Hiyama Seito as Franz, and then Shirogane Genta-kun as Herrmann. Actually, these 3 are brothers. Herrmann was actually the son of Maximilian. Although this may be a certain setting in the original, it is a conflict of Hermann who was born unwanted, the suffering of living to be talked behind his back as the son of concubine, therefore the jealousy and hatred towards Karl. That’s what I said, it was really conveyed from Gen-chan’s play, I thought that was amazing. Gen-chan’s play was too delicate, I love it. And then Herrmann, it’s a really good role. But it was definitely Gen-chan’s efforts to make Herrmann a good role. Herrmann was also one of the guy who fell in love with Amalia, so what if she’s together with Herrmann? So how much did I empathize with Herrmann is just between the two of us. (LOL)

This time, the stage set, props, makeup, sound and lighting, for a small theatre, the quality was in an unbelievable degree, especially the costumes were amazing. Of course, not only the castle, the costumes of Moore’s thief group, each of them were different, it was handmade by the dresser, it’s like a group in a sense. So cute.
Amalia’s costume was also my favorite!

The hem of the dress on the back was long, but in front it’s properly close to the ground, so when I walk or sit down, the silhouette is very beautiful. The color was also lovely and I wanted to buy it (laughs)

The accessories looked like this ♪
(Excluding the necklace that were removed at the beginning *laughs*)
The setting was that the ring and earrings were selfishly received from Karl. (LOL)
These earrings were cute. Ah, the ring is mine 😊

And then the ajisai flower were blooming at the entrance of Fushikaden.
When I looked it up, the flower language of ajisai is 「Persevering Love」.
Flowers that were blooming for Amalia (´ ; ω ; `) It’s a very nice flower language.

In my opinion, long ago, when they were small, Karl, Franz, and Amalia were very good friends. The 3 of them always played together. However, before they knew it, Amalia was attracted to Karl, Franz became alone.
In the end, who’s the pitiful one, Karl or Franz?
Was Franz a bad person, or was Karl a hero? In performing The Robbers, this time, director Matsumori-san told us the very first,

「What is good and evil」

「What is freedom」

This subject matter that we ask ourselves now, I wonder if we could emotionally stir the customers who watch it even a bit, what we were pursuing was not wrong?

Thank you very much for Iwata Family who came to visit again and again even though it’s a 3.5 hours long in 1 performance of such spectacular work. Take care of your butts 😭 (LOL) (LOL)

Even though my tears were not stopping during the grand final performance’s curtain call,

Even though I was happy to be able to play as Amalia,

I couldn’t stop my tears when I saw Iwata Family looking at my play and crying.

Finally, I was able to see myself as an actress. I thought.

It was long. Sorry to keep you waiting. Thank you.

I will make further leap from now, so please take care of me ☺️

I’m glad to have played as Amalia.
I hope that Karl is always happy in Heaven,,, *

Leave a comment